Book Review: My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Book Review: My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina LaurenMy Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren
Genres: Romantic Comedy
Release Date: 12/4/2018
Source: NetGalley





Loved

Millie Morris has always been one of the guys. A UC Santa Barbara professor, she’s a female-serial-killer expert who’s quick with a deflection joke and terrible at getting personal. And she, just like her four best guy friends and fellow professors, is perma-single.

So when a routine university function turns into a black tie gala, Mille and her circle make a pact that they’ll join an online dating service to find plus-ones for the event. There’s only one hitch: after making the pact, Millie and one of the guys, Reid Campbell, secretly spent the sexiest half-night of their lives together, but mutually decide the friendship would be better off strictly platonic.

But online dating isn’t for the faint of heart. While the guys are inundated with quality matches and potential dates, Millie’s first profile attempt garners nothing but dick pics and creepers. Enter Catherine—Millie’s fictional profile persona, in whose make-believe shoes she can be more vulnerable than she’s ever been in person. Soon Catherine and Reid strike up a digital pen-pal-ship. . . but Millie can’t resist temptation in real life, either. Soon, Millie will have to face her worst fear—intimacy—or risk losing her best friend, forever.

Perfect for fans of Roxanne and She’s the Man, Christina Lauren’s latest romantic comedy is full of mistaken identities, hijinks, and a classic love story with a modern twist. Funny and fresh, you’ll want to swipe right on My Favorite Half-Night Stand.

Book Review
My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren
Romantic Comedy
Release Date:  12/4/2018

My Review

How I loved THIS BOOK.

I am late to the Christina Lauren party…but I’m so glad to be here now.

This book is the story of Millie, the lone female in a circle of friends that includes several male friends who teach at the same university. Unbeknownst to others in the circle, Millie and their other friend Reid shared a passionate “half-night” together after an evening of drinks.

You can read the synopsis, which tells of the whole pact that they all make – to join an online dating website in order to find dates to a black tie function the university is throwing. Of course, Millie (using “Catherine”) and Reid are drawn to each other. Reid doesn’t realize the side view, semi blurred profile picture is Millie; Millie is shocked when he doesn’t realize it is her because in her mind, after replying to his first message she feels she has tossed out obvious clues in her reply that… well…Catherine IS Millie.

There was not a thing I didn’t enjoy about this book, and let me tell you – that is saying A LOT. Because usually, books that contain a situation such as this one does – that being one character keeping a secret from the other – make me squirm. And not in a fun way. I get full on anxiety from hell reading stories like that, knowing that it is going to get ugly.

Did I get anxious while reading this situation as well? A bit. However, the humor of the book kept my anxiety slight rather than the “giving me a tummy ache” kind. The writing is wonderful. The characters in this book are people I want to MEET; they are so kind and so damn funny. These are the kinds of friends I like – the ones who know that when you’re giving them hell, it’s because you know they can take it and you are doing it either for fun or because you love them.

I adored that the couple in the book started out as friends of several years before a romance developed. Maybe because I think you should be in love with your best friend? I don’t know, all I can say is I loved that aspect of the story as well.

If you love a good rom-com, this book is for you. If you love a good romance, this book is for you. If you love characters that you miss when you finish a book – this book is for you. I have nothing but love for this book and look forward to reading this author’s back catalog of books.

ARC received from publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.

NOTE:  All images courtesy of the authors’ Facebook page.  I doctored some to make them “fit” where I wanted them. 🙂

Loved

About Christina Lauren

Yes, there are two of us! Lauren (on the left) and Christina (on the right).

Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners and best friends Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. The #1 international bestselling coauthor duo writes both Young Adult and Adult Fiction, and together has produced fourteen New York Times bestselling novels. They are published in over 30 languages, have received starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal and Publishers Weekly, won both the Seal of Excellence and Book of the Year from RT Magazine, named Amazon and Audible Romance of the Year, a Lambda Literary Award finalist and been nominated for several Goodreads Choice Awards. They have been featured in publications such as Forbes, The Washington Post, Time, Entertainment Weekly, People, O Magazine and more. Their third YA novel, Autoboyography was released in 2017 to critical acclaim, followed by Roomies, Love and Other Words, Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating, and the Publisher’s Weekly starred My Favorite Half-Night Stand, out in December.

Lauren Billings (but everyone calls her Lo) has a Ph.D. in neuroscience and before she made writing her full-time job, would spend her days doing nerdy research-type things wearing a lab coat and goggles. She is silly Mommy to two littles, wife to one mountain biking homebrewing scientist, and an unabashed lover of YA and romance.

Christina Hobbs (but you’ll always hear Lo call her PQ) used to spend her days in a junior high counseling office surrounded by teenagers. These days you can find her at her desk, writing or watching BTS videos. She grew up in Utah and is absolutely not old enough to be the mom of a 17 year old (right??), thinks she’s the luckiest person in the world to write books with her best friend, and is an unapologetic lover of boy bands and glitter.

Mom, reader, music, legal asst, Liberal, romantically challenged Disappointment to my mother who had high hopes for me. #GrizzNation #TheResistance #WonderWoman

Leave a reply:

Your email address will not be published.

Sliding Sidebar

Like Me!

Disclaimer

Sometimes I receive ARCs (Advance Review Copies) of books for review.  I do NOT charge for reviews, nor do I receive any favors in exchange for my reviews.  Other times I purchase books or check them out at my local library.  I am an affiliate with iBooks, Kobo and Smashwords and receive commissions if an item is purchased using one of my links for these retailers.